

SCHOOL CLOSINGS AND BOUNDARY CHANGE PROPOSALS

The following proposals were presented to the Shawnee Mission Board of Education by Dr. Gene Johnson, superintendent of schools, at the board of education meeting on September 13, 2010. The board took no action on the proposals. Before voting on any of the proposals, the board of education will hold community meetings to receive input for consideration from parents, staff, students, patrons, and other stakeholders. The board of education is scheduled to consider these proposals at their regular meeting on November 8, 2010.

Proposed for implementation in 2011-2012

- **PROPOSAL 1:** Reassign Brookwood Elementary School, 3411 W. 103rd Street, from the SM East attendance area to the SM South attendance area.
- **PROPOSAL 2:** Reassign a portion of the Ray Marsh Elementary School attendance area from the SM Northwest attendance area to the SM North attendance area. Ray Marsh is located at 5642 Rosehill Road.
- **PROPOSAL 3:** Reassign the Trailwood Elementary School attendance area bounded on the south by 95th Street, on the west by Nall Ave., on the north by 91st Street, and on the east by Mission Road from the SM East attendance area to the SM South attendance area. Trailwood is located at 5101 W. 95th Street.
- **PROPOSAL 4:** Close Bonjour Elementary School, 9400 Pflumm Road, at the end of the 2010-2011 school year and reassign the students to Sunflower Elementary School, 8955 Loiret Blvd.
- **PROPOSAL 5:** Reassign a portion of students attending Sunflower Elementary School, 8955 Loiret Blvd., who live west of I-435, north of 87th Street, east of the western-most Shawnee Mission boundary, and south of Blackfish Parkway to Christa McAuliffe Elementary School, 15600 W. 83rd Street.
- **PROPOSAL 6:** Close Shawanoe Elementary School, 11230 W. 75th Street, at the end of the 2010-2011 school year. Reassign a portion of the Shawanoe students to Rising Star Elementary School, 8600 Candlelight, and a portion of the students to Mill Creek Elementary School, 13951 W. 79th Street.
- **PROPOSAL 7:** Reassign students in the Prairie Lakes apartment complex, 6700 Lackman Road, from the Mill Creek Elementary School, 13951 W. 79th Street, to Rhein Benninghoven Elementary School, 6720 Caenen.
- **PROPOSAL 8:** Close Antioch Middle School, 8200 W. 71st Street, at the end of the 2010-2011 school year and relocate the Antioch students to Hocker Grove Middle School, 10400 Johnson Drive.
- **PROPOSAL 9:** Reassign the Roesland Elementary School middle school attendance boundary in the SM North attendance area from Indian Hills Middle School in the SM East attendance area to Hocker Grove Middle School in the SM North attendance area. Roesland is located at 4900 Parish Drive.
- **PROPOSAL 10:** Close Mission Valley Middle School, 8500 Mission Road, at the end of the 2010-2011 school year and relocate the students to Indian Hills Middle School, 6400 Mission Road.

Proposed for implementation in 2012-2013

• **PROPOSAL 11:** Close Dorothy Moody Elementary School, 10101 England, at the end of the 2011-2012 school year and reassign the students to Brookridge Elementary School, 9920 Lowell.