The Harbinger Online

Debate Wins Washburn Rural Season Opener

Washburn Rural

The East Debate squad for placing first in sweepstakes out of 38 schools at the Washburn Rural Invitational. East had more cumulative wins than any other school in attendance. This was the first weekend of competition in Kansas, and Washburn Rural is one of the largest and most competitive tournaments during the season in Kansas. This was also their sixth year in a row winning sweeps at this tournament. There were 64 teams in the varsity division in preliminaries. Four of East’s varsity teams broke to quarterfinals, which means half of the teams in out-rounds were SME teams.

Individual Awards:


Ada Throckmorton / Utsa Ramaswami- Third, semifinals

Karl Walter / Henry Walter- Third, semifinals

Ali Dastjerdi / Shrushti Mehta- Fourth, quarterfinals

Parker Mitchell / Jack Werner- Fourth, quarterfinals

Henry Walter- Third place speaker award

Karl Walter- Fifth place speaker award

Ada Throckmorton- Sixth place speaker award

All four teams received a DCI (Debate Coaches’ Invitational) bid


Spencer Mitchell / Bhavish Dinakar- Second, finals

Jameson McGranahan / Josh Fowler


Blue Valley Southwest Tournament:

Jack Eddy / Will Bledsoe- Eighth in Varsity

Max Keeter / Johnston Davis- Fifth in Open

Follow by Email

Comments are closed.